Seeking Opinions on Quantifying Validator Stability Factors

Hello, I am an undergraduate student working on a project at my university to quantitatively represent the stability of validators with numerical values. However, I am unsure about which data and weights to use for this quantification process. Therefore, I am writing this post to ask for your opinions.

The data to be quantified are as follows:

• Self-Unbonded amount and its trend
  • Commission trend
  • Uptime trend
  • Average number of blocks
  • Amount of bonded tokens
  • Whether slashed in the past 6 months
  • Proposal voting rate (how many of the last 50 proposals were voted on)

Among these data points, I would appreciate it if you could help me determine the priority of which data is essential when evaluating the stability of validators. Moreover, I would be even more grateful if you could explain why you chose the first data point.

Thank you.

2 Likes

Hey, I would be really happy to help you with that, including having a chat. You can send me a DM on Twitter, that’s twitter.com/gadikian and I’ll gladly take you through it .

There’s also something that I would like you to be aware of, it’s my opinion that most attempts in fact every attempt today have seen so far at creating a qualitative scoring system for validators have failed in the sense that they would lead to false conclusions. Another person that I think that you would likely want to talk to about this is @Spaydh from P2P validator. If I had to guess they have the most detailed set of analytics and metrics that anybody does. One thing that you should note though is that from conversations with P2P, I know that a great deal of their assessment approach is qualitative instead of quantitative.

Look forward to talking to you more about this soon