A Note on the Future of the Cosmos Hub

Disclaimer : I am relatively new to building in Cosmos (more on my story here), and have been building Duality for the past year+. There is also currently a proposal in progress for Neutron to acquire Duality which may be perceived as a conflict of interest. I ask that you please read as much as possible if you’re interested in commenting on it, this way we can have an informed, nuanced discussion on it. Also not sure if I have to say this or not but just in case : this is not financial advice. Here goes nothing !

The Value of Focus

Tldr : Focus is the most important but scarcest resource.

A piece of conventional startup wisdom that has been given to me more times than I can count is : more companies die of indigestion than starvation.

When you’re working at a startup for the first time and someone tells you this, it sounds incredibly counterintuitive. How could it be the case that more startups fail from doing too much ! Clearly you’d be more likely to never make a shot if you don’t take enough shots on goal.

But the reality is resources at startups are scarce : runways are finite and stagnation kills attention. To illustrate why scarcity matters, consider companies building crypto protocols :

1. $10 million in runway, 3 theses - we will be the best at DeFi, Social DAOs and Rollups
  2. $4 million in runway, 1 thesis - we will be the best at DeFi
  3. $4 million in runway, 1 thesis - we will be the best at Social DAOs
  4. $4 million in runway, 1 thesis - we will be the best at Rollups

Even though startup #1 raised the most money and probably has the largest team, they can’t allocate more focus, thoughtfulness and capital to any individual vertical (~$3.3m, ~33% team) as the other three (~$4m, 100% team). Anyone who’s worked at a startup before also understands how much value is lost in coordination efforts.