Hire A Lawyer for Gaia

This is very much an in discussion topic.

https://twitter.com/gadikian/status/1667025168945008644

Binance

The cosmos is featured from the end of page 104 to page 107. The binance complaint seems to include numerous factual inaccuracies.

Coinbase

Pages 87-92.

Big idea

Thing is, I am not a lawyer. I am merely a former history teacher and lifelong open source enthusiast. I think that the hub needs a lawyer. I just want to open the conversation here, before kicking off a governance proposal to hire a lawyer to defend the rights of our community, or at the very least, provide advice to the community at large.

Today, in the GVA (Good Validators Alliance) @RoboMcGobo, one of the chat admins there, suggested a strategy, but I would like to allow him to further expand on that.

1 Like

I’m not a lawyer, but I struggle with this.

I worry bringing the Hub into meatspace with legal council expands the potential regulatory attack surface.

The Hub being a digitally native sovereign territory means it doesn’t have to answer to any regulatory body (especially the only regulatory body that has deemed its currency a security).

I cant see how hiring legal to defend the Cosmos tech stack (not just the Hub) doesn’t fall under the ICF mandate. The Hub itself should stay far away from this imo.

5 Likes

I’ve been summoned by the Gadikian to give some input here, so I’ll just jump right into it. This stems from a tweet that I made this morning, which you can find here: https://twitter.com/RoboMcGobo/status/1668252699794522114?s=20

This idea is somewhat half-baked and I would like more input on this from an experienced attorney, but the TLDR here is that if any of the allegations in the Binance lawsuit require a threshold determination by the court that ATOM is a security, the court’s decision may have far-reaching impacts on the Cosmos Hub and, naturally, the ATOM token.