An organizational psychology perspective on Cosmos (with a few initial recommendations)

Hi, I’m Rob, I’m a work psychologist, and a few weeks ago I attended Cosmoverse in Istanbul and met a bunch of you, and I wanted to take this opportunity to share some of my observations and thoughts. Just FYI, I’m not much of a crypto expert, and I’m not technical at all, but I’m a friend of Sebastien’s, and I’ve had a positive opinion of the Cosmos ecosystem after having attended the past two Nebular Summits. I knew a little bit about the history of Cosmos and some of the related dramas – and, in my line of work, drama and conflict are things I gravitate to, so I’ve been intrigued to learn more for a while. Cosmoverse did not disappoint.

Let me start by saying that I love (and seek out) working with people who have two key traits: a passion for building a better world, and a humility that building a better world is really, really hard. I felt that authenticity and curiosity from almost everyone I talked to – that’s not something I see in every organization I meet, so it’s worth acknowledging and applauding.

As a whole, Cosmos exhibits very strong shared values, some of which are: kindness, curiosity, fairness, intelligence, industriousness, humility, autonomy, and democracy. I’m sure I’m missing some, and I could go into more detail on each of these, but for now let’s just leave them here.

Cosmos is – especially compared with other blockchain communities I’m familiar with – not a cult! There is true diversity in the ecosystem, as well as a healthy dose of skepticism. It’s a big tent, which is ideal for growth at the levels of ambition it has. There is an impressive level of self-awareness throughout the ecosystem. This is accompanied by relatively low defensiveness. People tend to own up to mistakes and often set aside their egos. This means there’s massive learning going on.