[PROPOSAL][ABANDONED] New governance proposal for Max Supply and Burn Rate

I would like to create a governance proposal, but I’m not technically advanced enough to know what I’m doing, so I will require assistance. If this proposal is interesting to anybody here and you want to pursue it further, please DM me.

The proposal would create two key changes to ATOM that will both reduce FUD, increase ATOM price, and have zero negative impact on ATOM:

1. Create a maximum supply of 500 million ATOM. Given the current rate of ~7% inflation, it would take ~10 years to reach this number of ATOM in circulation.

• Risks - The risks are two fold, but both de minimis. The key risk is that ATOM isn’t able to carry out its vision and start receiving significant transaction fees within 10 years. IF that is the case, then we can always create a new governance to change it; it seems highly unlikely that this would occur unless ATOM is a total failure. The other key risk is that inflation increases significantly and we actually reach this level in ~4 years (fastest possible rate). This would only happen if staking dropped dramatically, which, again, would be incredibly unlikely. Also, 4 years isn’t a short period of time.

• Benefits - a common FUD against ATOM is that there is no maximum supply and therefore infinite dilution. This will put this argument to rest and allow people to calculate a fully diluted market share for valuation comparison purposes.

2. Create an automatic burn mechanism - specifically, once transaction fees are over $1 million, utilize 10% of transaction fees to burn ATOM (i.e. if there are $3 million of transaction fees, then 10% of $2 million, or $200k worth of ATOM, would be burned. Burned ATOMs would reduce both the current circulating supply and maximum supply.

• Risks - Are there any!?!?