Governance module: ranked choice voting

Hello!

I’d like to add a feature to the Cosmos SDK’s governance module. I’d like for a single proposal to have multiple options that are subject to ranked-choice voting.

I have no coding experience. Any interest in working with me to implement this? Reply here or email gavin@figment.network

1 Like

@Gavin can you describe the tallying procedure for such a voting mechanism?

1 Like

Sure!
Voters rank the candidates in accordance with their preferences. If no candidate receives a majority after the initial count of first-choice votes, the candidate with the fewest number of first-choice votes is eliminated; the ballots supporting the eliminated candidate are then redistributed according to the voters’ ranked preferences indicated on the ballots (ie. second choice becomes first choice). This process continues until a candidate receives a majority of the votes.

Interesting. I can see how this mechanism can have some merit. I have some initial concerns that are outlined in the paper you’ve posted. Specifically:

As a result of ballot exhaustion, the winner in all four of our cases
receives less than a majority of the total votes cast, a finding that
raises serious concerns about IRV and challenges a key argument
made by the system's proponents.

What kinds of proposals do you see benefiting from such a voting mechanism? Also curious on @sunnya97’s thoughts here.

1 Like

Hey Aleks, thanks for engaging. I share those concerns, which I suspect could be mitigated by limiting the number of “candidates.”

As the number of candidates increases, so does the level of ballot exhaustion. For example, San Francisco, which had sixteen candidates listed on the ballot, the rate of ballot exhaustion rate was strikingly high (27.1 percent).